2011 GSA Medal & Award Recipients Named, p. 10



VOL. 21, NO. 7

m Style date

A PUBLICATION OF THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

**JULY 2011** 

# Clinker geochronology, the first glacial maximum, and landscape evolution in the northern Rockies

## Inside:

- ▲ 2011 GSA Research Grant Recipients, p. 18
- Specialty Meeting Report: Tectonic Crossroads: Evolving Orogens of Eurasia-Africa-Arabia, p. 35
- ▲ Penrose Conference Report: Neotectonics of Arc-Continent Collision, p. 36
- Field Forum Report: Structure and Neotectonic Evolution of Northern Owens Valley and the Volcanic Tableland, California, p. 40



The GSA Graduate Student Research Grant Program is funded by GSA, the GSA Foundation, GSA Divisions, and the National Science Foundation.

The 2011 GSA Committee on Research Grants awarded US\$530,445 to 220 graduate students (35% of the 633 who applied), with an average grant of \$2,411. The committee also selected 12 alternate candidates in the event that any grantees return all or part of their funds due to a change in their research project or receipt of funds from another source.

**Committee members:** Kevin M. Yeager (Chair), Diana Elder Anderson, Nan Crystal Arens, Julia A. Baldwin, David Borrok, Elizabeth Jones Crafford, Rupali Datta, Shanaka L. de Silva, Robert V. Demicco, James E. Evans, David P. Gillikin, Allen M. Gontz, V.J.S. (Tien) Grauch, Stephen S. Harlan, Antun Husinec, Oliver Korup, Jeffrey Lee, Francisca E. Oboh-Ikuenobe, Frederick K. Partey, Susannah M. Porter, Michael F. Roden, Dawn Y. Sumner, Julia Smith Wellner, and Peter D. Wilf.

Specialized awards will be presented at the 2011 GSA Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA, in October.

### **Outstanding Mentions**

James Berglund, Missouri State University Lauren Colwell, University of Wyoming Angela Cota, Western Washington University Justin Davis, University of South Carolina Matthew Dettinger, University of Arizona Jeff La Frenierre, Ohio State University Anna Lindquist, University of Minnesota–Twin Cities Daniel McInnis, University of Notre Dame Benjamin Melosh, University of California at Santa Barbara Theo Mlynowski, University of Northern British Columbia

Jesse Morris, University of Utah Jonathan Pratt, University of South Carolina Glenn Sharman, Stanford University Aaron Shultis, University of Nebraska–Lincoln Alison Sloat, University of Nevada–Las Vegas Drew Thomas, University of Missouri–Columbia Sheldon Turner, Michigan State University Fan Wang, Purdue University

John Moore, University of California at Santa Barbara

Andrea Wolfowicz, Boise State University

The primary role of the GSA Research Grants Program is to provide partial support for master's and doctoral thesis research in the geological sciences for graduate students enrolled in universities in the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Central America. Starting in 2012, the maximum available grant will be US\$2,000. The 2012 application for will be available in early December at **www.geosociety.org/grants/gradgrants.htm** and grant applications are due 1 Feb. 2012.

## 2011 GSA DIVISION & SECTION STUDENT RESEARCH AWARDS

Six GSA Divisions and three GSA Sections have recognized the following graduate student research grant recipients proposals of exceptionally high merit in conception and presentation in their fields. These students will be honored at the 2011 GSA Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA, in October.



## DIVISIONS

#### GEOPHYSICS

Allan V. Cox Student Research Grant Drew Thomas, University of Missouri–Columbia Geophysics Student Research Grant Award James A. Wilson, University of South Florida

#### HYDROGEOLOGY

Hydrogeology Division Student Research Grant Awards Mark Hausner, University of Nevada–Reno
Colleen Long, University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill Daniel McInnis, University of Notre Dame Peter Zamora, University of Texas at Austin

#### MINERALOGY, GEOCHEMISTRY, PETROLOGY, AND VOLCANOLOGY

*MGPV Division Student Research Grant Awards* **William F. Defliese,** University of Michigan **Stephanie B. Grocke,** Oregon State University

#### QUATERNARY GEOLOGY AND GEOMORPHOLOGY

J. Hoover Mackin Student Research Award Linda Martin, Rutgers University J. Hoover Mackin Student Research Award Honorary Mention Jessica Zinger, University of Illinois Urbana–Champaign Arthur D. Howard Student Research Award Philip Prince, Virginia Tech Arthur D. Howard Student Research Award Honorary Mention John Gartner, Dartmouth College Marie Morisawa Student Research Award Kristen Cooke, University of Victoria Marie Morisawa Student Research Award Honorary Mention Jessica Zinger, University of Illinois Urbana–Champaign

#### SEDIMENTARY GEOLOGY

Sedimentary Geology Division Student Research Grant Award Theo Mlynowski, University of Northern British Columbia

#### STRUCTURAL GEOLOGY AND TECTONICS

Structural Geology and Tectonics Division Student Research Grant Awards Benjamin Melosh, McGill University Kristin Morell, Pennsylvania State University Meredith Petrie, University of Iowa Jonanthan Pratt, University of South Carolina

**SECTIONS** 

.....

#### SOUTHEASTERN

Md. Iftekhar Alam, Auburn University Nikolaos Apsilidis, Virginia Tech

Lori Babcock, University of Georgia Edwin Cadena, North Carolina State University Kristin Dorfler, Virginia Tech Robert W. Hunter, University of Tennessee Louis Infante, Mississippi State University Jessica R. Norman, University of South Florida Catherine Skees, University of Kentucky

#### NORTHEASTERN

Alexandria Brannick, Lafayette College Brian Butts, SUNY Potsdam Erin Donaghy, Bucknell University Jared Lefkowitz, Wesleyan University Sidney Mattocks, Mount Holyoke College Lily Pfeifer, Bucknell University Amber Scoufos, University of Rhode Island Leah Toms, Pennsylvania State University

#### NORTH-CENTRAL

Ryan Bleess, Minnesota State University at Mankato
Cathrine Botzum, University of Wisconsin–Whitewater
Ian Freeman, University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire
Nicholas John Heim, Winona State University
Kiel Jenkin, Winona State University
Kase Knochenhauer, Grand Valley State University
Kendra Lynn, Winona State University
Joel Main, The Ohio State University
Candice Phillips, University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh
Andrew Simmons, Winona State University
Cody Wendt, Winona State University